In Switzerland, the federal government, the cantons and the municipalities are empowered to levy taxes. The expression of Swiss federalism emerges in the tax system because - apart from certain requirements by the federal government - the cantons and municipalities are largely free in determining the amount of the tax rate. Concretely, this means 26 different cantonal regulations and approx. 2,800 different municipal regulations apply.